“Is soy gluten-free?” may be a question you’ve had, especially if you have an intolerance or allergy to gluten. Soy is in a lot of common food products, so it’s important to know how it may relate to food allergies if you have them.
Gluten describes the protein that is found in wheat and grains. While gluten is perfectly fine in regular diets, there is a small portion of people who do have intolerances or allergies to it. In those cases, being aware of food ingredients is important to make sure you’re eating right for your body. Here is a guide to what soy products do and don’t contain gluten.
Is Soy Gluten-Free?
The answer is, yes. Soy is gluten-free. Soybeans or soy protein that is derived from soybeans are both naturally gluten-free. However, that doesn’t mean all soy products don’t contain gluten. We broke down a few more common products you might see on food labels.
Are Other Soy Products Gluten-Free?
Soy sauce does contain gluten. Wheat is actually a primary ingredient, making it not gluten-free. There are alternatives available that use rice instead of wheat.
Make sure to read ingredient lists on soy sauces carefully to find the right one for you! If you can’t find a rice soy sauce, try using tamari as a substitute.
Soybean oil, or commonly called vegetable oil, does not contain wheat or other grains. Soybean oil is simply extracted from soybeans which is why it is fine for people with gluten intolerances to consume.
Soy lecithin might be a common ingredient you’ll find on food labels. It’s used as a food additive and can be used as an emulsifier, antioxidant, and flavor protector when added to food. It is extracted from soybean oil during processing and it is gluten-free.
Some but not all soy milk is gluten-free as some may include wheat or other grains. Double-check your labels when purchasing to ensure you get one that is gluten-free.
Soy flour is created by grinding roasted soybeans into a powder and does not contain any wheat or other grains. You might find soy flour as a helpful substitute for wheat flour.
How can I avoid soy products with gluten?
Many soy products can actually be a helpful alternative for gluten products if you have a gluten intolerance or allergy! Just make sure to double-check food labels and ensure no gluten products are added ingredients.
Curious about where you might find soy in other food products? Check out our blog How Well Do You Know Your Soy Foods?